costa ric pic2.jpg
This is a recent picture of my family at a cousin's wedding. I am on the left.

Hello Everyone!
My name is Kalee Crist, and I am so excited to be collaborating with such an amazing group of individuals! I am originally from Darlington, WI a small, rural town of a whopping 2500 people in the Southwestern part of the state. I have two wonderful parents, an older sister, a younger brother, and I am about to be a first time aunt! (So I apologize in advance for all the pictures and stories I might share during our trip because he/she will only be a month old when we leave!)
I recently graduated from the University of Wisconsin Platteville where I majored in Elementary Education and Spanish Education. I studied abroad my junior year of college in Seville, Spain and while there, I traveled to several other countries. Among my favorite trips were my weeks in Norway and Holland to visit my two international roommates from school. They were a huge motivation for me to study abroad, and it was an incredible experience to be able to share in their daily life after having them be such a part mine while they were in the US.

Upon graduating last spring, I was hired at Lancaster High School to teach High School Spanish- levels
1-4. A big change from my second grade st

udent teaching placement, but some days not that far off on maturity levels… :) Needless to say it has been one of the hardest…no I take that back…THE hardest year of my life, and although I have grown immensely as a teacher and individual, it has been a tough process. Thankfully I have some great friends and a very supportive family that have helped me through the tough days. One of the reasons I am so appreciative of being chosen to participate in this program is for the opportunity to share ideas and learn from all of you and your different experiences. (P.S.- quick shout out to Nicole, I think you said you were in your first year too?? Woot Woot!)

I am also really looking forward to improving my Spanish being as I started from scratch during college. I have never been to Costa Rica and love the idea of being able to add personal artifacts to a cultural unit on the country.

Some other random tid-bits about me: I love dancing, smiling, the color yellow, Cheetos, picnics, Jason Mraz and Pink, traveling, listening and learning about others, Ben and Jerry’s Half Baked Ice Cream, my family and our three miniature donkeys! I am so excited to meet all of you and to begin this incredible experience!

Curriculum Project