Copy of Peru- Machu Picchu, Cusco, Urabomba 102.jpg
¡Hola! Me llamo Ashley, tengo 24 años, y soy de Nueva Jersey. =)
Hi!! I’m Ashley, I’m 24, and I am from NJ. =)

I am a Spanish teacher in West Windsor-Plainsboro School District, right next to Princeton. (It’s the town where the show House, M.D. is set!) I teach Spanish I, Spanish III Honors, and Spanish 6: Conversations. I taught elementary school Spanish in the same district for two years before moving up to the High School. In my district, the World Language teachers speak exclusively in the target language (Spanish) with the kids, from 2nd grade to 12th grade, which means that I spend most of my day using Spanish. It’s a blast =)

I am not a native speaker, but I grew up LOVING Spanish and working/studying with Latinos. As I tell my kids, I am not comfortable saying that I am ‘fluent’…which makes them laugh, because in their minds, I am. But I know that I make mistakes and that there is SO much for me to still learn. Example: Recently, I was translating at a Women’s Clinic in Trenton and I didn’t know the work for ‘Pap smear.’ I mean, it was never in any text book and I’ve never needed to use that word in my travels (thank God!). So I described the process and looked the word up later. It’s ‘papanicolaou,’ apparently =) That being said, I am excited to spend 5 weeks immersed in the language, refining and learning as much as possible in Costa Rica =)

I have a passion for social justice and global development. In 2008, I traveled to Peru where I studied Anthropology and Theology and volunteered for 5 months. I have also spent time volunteering with NGOs, schools, and churches in Bolivia, Argentina, Paraguay, Honduras and Belize. Recreationally, I have traveled to most of the Caribbean, Italy, England, France, and Spain. I am so excited to meet you all, write Curriculum, experience Costa Rica, and study the MDGs!

Additional Interests and Info:

-I am married to Matt, my best friend and crazy life partner. On trips, I manage the money & language and he is the map-reader/guide. I’m going to feel a bit ‘lost’ without him, but it’s a chance for me to grow =) We will celebrate our 3rd anniversary on June 27th (hopefully we’ll have a skype date!)

-I love to cook, be outside, teach, snowboard, camp, visit museums, and travel. I also LOVE to read (Harry Potter, LOTR, Hunger Games, anything Barbara Kingsolver, Isabel Allende, Lauren Winner, Historical Fiction, Contemporary issues, Women’s Lit, etc.)

-I waitress on the weekends at a Greek Diner. I have worked there for 8 years and it is where I first started practicing my Spanish (with the cooks!). Diners are a very important part of Jersey culture…and I will miss the diner while I am away!

-I am halfway through my Masters of Education program at The College of New Jersey. I am studying ESL and Bilingual Education.

That’s all I can think of for now! Feel free to contact me! My skype name is ashley.toms, my email is, and I’m on Facebook.

Looking forward to getting to know you better!
Ashley =)


Curriculum Project link